Must attend Festivals

Trout Fishing Trip

There are over 200,000 festivals every year in Japan ranging from quiet and introspective to wild and dangerous. Festivals are held at shrines and temples along with local and national festivals. There are dance festivals, snow festivals, rife festivals, performance festival, religious festivals and many more. Festivals often show strength, endurance and bravery that are are considered a rite of passage. Japanese festivals provide an opportunity to interact with the locals and to participate in the lighthearted side of Japanese culture.

The following list are considered the biggest and best festivals Japan has to offer.

Title Prefecture City event date
Big Kite of Zama Kanagawa Zama Thursday, May 4, 2017 - 10:00 to Friday, May 5, 2017 - 16:00
Fuji Rock Festival Niigata Yuzawa-cho Friday, July 28, 2017 - 11:00 to Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 23:00
Kanda Matsuri Tōkyō Chiyoda Thursday, May 11, 2017 - 08:00 to Wednesday, May 17, 2017 - 20:45
Koinobori Kanagawa Sagami Saturday, April 29, 2017 - 09:00 to Friday, May 5, 2017 - 16:00
Nikko Tosho-gu Shunki Reitaisai Tochigi Nikko Wednesday, May 17, 2017 - 13:30 to Thursday, May 18, 2017 - 18:15
Sagami Giant kite Festival Kanagawa Sagamihara Thursday, May 4, 2017 - 10:00 to Friday, May 5, 2017 - 16:00
Sanja Matsuri Tōkyō Akasaka Friday, May 19, 2017 - 13:00 to Sunday, May 21, 2017 - 18:00
Summer Sonic 2017 Chiba Makuhari Friday, August 18, 2017 - 20:00 to Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 22:00